A new direction for the blog?

Yesterday was my last day of work at the bank. Today, I enter a new chapter of my life which promises to be a lot less structured.

I plan to attend business school in the fall (haven’t decided where yet). Until then, I will focus my energy on the following pursuits (in no particular order of importance):

  • Building my business: William R Wright, CPA, P.C.
  • Working out a lot and getting in great shape
  • Reading
  • Spending lots of time with friends
  • Flag Football & Basketball
  • Perhaps taking a cool trip in June (once football is over)

I also plan to move this blog in a new direction: I will post a lot more “personal interest” topics. That doesn’t mean you will find them interesting, just that the posts will be more personal in nature and more frequent.

 

Thoughts on Blogging:

I still don’t understand what personal blogs are supposed to be. Is blogging about self improvement? Is it for narcissists or people who need affirmation? Is it for fun? Is it personal PR?

For me, maybe it’s all of these things; I can’t decide. What I do know is that it can be a powerful tool for self improvement. The work I’ve done on my personal portfolio, and documented quarterly in the blog, has been invaluable. I have a contract with myself to do a lot of homework each quarter. Writing about my investments and my asset allocation clarifies my thinking. I believe this work saved me thousands of dollars in 2007 and is the reason why I didn’t own any financial stocks last year. Without the blog, I would be thousands of dollars poorer.

The challenge I face over the next three months is to make the most of my time. I will write more about it on the blog and see how it goes.

Thanks for reading!

2 Responses to A new direction for the blog?

  1. Steven says:

    I think most personal blogs are an outlet and a point of reference. It is an outlet in the sense that it allows bloggers to share their thoughts and ideas with others and also just to unload one’s mind. I often find writing therapeutic. It can also be a reference in the sense that it allows you to track progress; to see how your thought process has changed or to see what grasps your interests previously and what grasps your interests now.

  2. Steven says:

    Sorry I missed the outing last night Will. Had to run home after work. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors. Keep in touch yeah?

Leave a Reply

