Chicken Stew Recipe

As I mentioned in my New Year’s Resolution Part I, I want to cook more meals at home. One of the few things I know how to cook is “stew.”

I cooked up a batch on Saturday and it turned out so well that I’ve decided to share it with the world!

Ingredients:

* 3-4 pounds boneless, skinless free-range chicken breasts, cut into cubes

* 2 large onions, chopped

* Can of no-sodium potatoes

* Can of no-sodium sweet corn

* Can of no-sodium peas

* Bag of carrots

* 3-4 32oz. cans of no or low sodium organic tomatoes — whole or crushed

 

Preparation:

blog-004.jpg

Sauté onions until browned. Then add all vegetable ingredients in a large pot. For the canned vegetables, just dump the full contents of the can into the pot. Simmer on low for a couple hours.

The chicken should be cooked separately. Since we’re dealing with so much chicken, it helps to cook it in at least two batches. Monitor the chicken carefully so that it is not overcooked. Once it’s done, keep the chicken on a plate in the refrigerator.

blog-005.jpg

 

Once the stew has reached the desired consistency, turn off stove and allow to cool and then add the chicken.

** It’s important not to let the chicken simmer with the stew so that it doesn’t get dried out.

Serving Tips:
Serve over brown rice and heat in the microwave. I usually pour on some olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Makes enough for at least 15 servings

2 Responses to Chicken Stew Recipe

  1. dave says:

    I didn’t see where you add the garlic or how much?

    Did you mistype ?

  2. Will says:

    I don’t ever add garlic to any of my cooking.

Leave a Reply

