Biking in NYC

A couple of my friends have recently acquired inexpensive bikes that they ride around town. I want to jump on the bandwagon but there are a couple of things holding me back. First, it’s not really that safe to ride on the major roads in NYC. I think the city is slowly becoming more bike-friendly and less car friendly. Nevertheless, it’s still very dangerous, all things considered.

The other problem: I don’t have a good place to store the bike when I’m not riding it. There’s just no way I could keep it in my apartment or building. Keeping it outside on the street seems no good either. I always see bikes chained to poles or fences with some part of the bike stolen. I snapped these pics walking along East Houston street yesterday:

bicycle-002.jpg

bicycle-005.jpg

One Response to Biking in NYC

  1. brent says:

    david & I had two bikes stolen on Sunday night – very sad. Know of any more cheap city bikes??

Leave a Reply

